My All-Time Favorite Necklace

Unique Woven Wire Coconut Shell Collar Necklace by Junebug Jewelry Designs.

Unique Woven Wire Coconut Shell Collar Necklace by Junebug Jewelry Designs.

Like any jewelry designer, I make lots of things I really love. That’s the fun of it all. But today, I think I’ve put the finishing touches on what may be my favorite piece yet!

Last year, I took a wire weaving class. The class was about eight hours long, and we completed one design. Needless to say, wire weaving isn’t something that’s done in a flash. But, I love the technique and knew I wanted to incorporate it into my designs. So, I decided to go for woven-wire components rather than entire pieces.

Want me? Give me a click.Want me? Give me a click.I absolutely LOVE the way this one turned out. It uses two colors of wire, seafoam and light lime. The colored wire overlaps a base of copper wire, which I shaped into the respective designs as I was wrapping the colored wire. The centerpiece is my absolute favorite component. It is a coconut shell that I got from a woman on the beach in Negril, Jamaica this past December. I knew I wanted to turn her carved creation into something completely unique. I think this necklace does the trick. Plus, I was glad to show her some support.

Funky Copper Cuff Bracelet by Junebug Jewelry Designs.

Funky Copper Cuff Bracelet by Junebug Jewelry Designs.

And, while we’re chatting about wire, here’s another funky scribble wire cuff bracelet. This one features a turquoise-dyed howlite disc with a single amethyst-colored glass faceted bead in the center. So cute!!

Want me? Give me a click.So, what do you think of the woven wire design? Do you share my enthusiasm for its funkiness?

One thought on “My All-Time Favorite Necklace

Tell me how you feel about it

