New Skills Comin’ At Cha!

Amethyst and Amber Statement Necklace by Junebug Jewelry Designs

Amethyst and Amber Statement Necklace by Junebug Jewelry Designs

Last month, I had the privilege of attending BeadFest in Philadelphia where I learned some new skills that I have been dying to incorporate into my jewelry collection. After stocking up on what I must say has been an extensive arsenal of new supplies, I spent the weekend bringing my vision to life.

A bracelet made in the Eye of the Storm class taught by Eva Sherman during BeadFest in Philadelphia (spring 2013).

A bracelet made in the Eye of the Storm class taught by Eva Sherman during BeadFest in Philadelphia (spring 2013).

In Philly, I learned a wire sculpture technique from a fabulous instructor named Eva Sherman who designed the Eye of the Storm bracelet (right) that I made in one of my classes. I’m using that technique to create unique necklace and bracelet elements with endless potential.

I made these sculptures with copper wire, a hammer and a patina solution.

I made these sculptures with copper wire, a hammer and a patina solution.

I achieved my wire sculptures by weaving together copper wire and then hammering it into submission. Once I had the shape and hardness I wanted, I dipped the sculpture into a patina, and then buffed it to get color depth.

Want me? Give me a click.I decided to combine my new wire sculptures with chunks of amber and amethyst that I picked up in Philly as well. I love the way the colors all blend so beautifully!

Look for more wire sculptures this week. I’m just getting started!

Want me? Give me a click.

2 thoughts on “New Skills Comin’ At Cha!

Tell me how you feel about it

