Look Ya’ll…New Skills!

It’s been almost a week since I wrote my last post (I’m not counting yesterday’s reblog about the Bling Ball Bracelet Giveaway that I hope you entered). I was in Philadelphia for Bead Fest taking classes in metasmithing and wire weaving. I cannot wait to apply these techniques to new Junebug Jewelry Designs.

One of the best things about the classes is the fact that you walk away with completed projects you can show off when you get home. In my first class, I created this gorgeous bracelet and ring. The technique used for these pieces is the one I’m most excited about.

A bracelet made in the Eye of the Storm class taught by Eva Sherman.

A bracelet made in the Eye of the Storm class taught by Eva Sherman.

A ring I made in th Eye of the Storm class taught by Eva Sherman.

A ring I made in th Eye of the Storm class taught by Eva Sherman.

I also took a Fold Forming class and made these two cuff bracelets.

I made these bracelets in a Fold Forming class taught by Eva Sherman.

I made these bracelets in a Fold Forming class taught by Eva Sherman.

My final class was a wire weaving course taught by Margaret Aden, an absolutely AWESOME designer who can do some amazing things with wire. The class was like a knitting circle, because wire weaving is slow and steady like knitting. It was fun chatting with classmates about too many topics to name. But the best part was walking away with this necklace and knowing my hands were responsible.

I made this necklace in a wire weaving class taught by Margaret Aden.

I made this necklace in a wire weaving class taught by Margaret Aden.

And, yes, I have dabbled in wire weaving in the past. In fact, here’s a pair of earrings (now sold) where I used that technique.

Earrings that I sold a while back that feature a wire weaving technique.

Earrings that I sold a while back that feature a wire weaving technique.

However, the necklace design created in Margaret’s class has opened my mind to a whole new world of possibilities. Plus, she taught a new way of weaving that results in a much cleaner design.

Even with these new skills, I’ll always be a fan of beading. Today, I added this necklace to the Junebug Jewelry Store.

Wooden, Pearl and Tiger Eye Multi-Strand Necklace by Junebug Jewelry Designs

Wooden, Pearl and Tiger Eye Multi-Strand Necklace by Junebug Jewelry Designs

I love the multi-strand design and earthy look. Layered necklaces are very much “in” this season.

Have you completed your entry for the custom Bling Ball Bracelet Giveaway yet? This is your chance to get a design made to fit your wrist and created in your favorite color scheme. Enter today!

Until next time…

Want me? Give me a click.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Look Ya’ll…New Skills!

Tell me how you feel about it

