It Really Does Look Like a Tricycle

A design that went wrong, then went right.

Speaking of projects that didn’t quite work out the way I expected, check out the It Looks Like a Tricycle necklace. This began as an attempt to stitch beads together to make a round patch.

At some point, I missed a stitch and my perfect circle of sewn-together beads just wasn’t going to be. But, I didn’t want to waste my efforts.

I decided to secure the thread and then weave gunmetal wire around the edges of my “pattern” to hold it in place and give it some shape. But, it was still too plain for an appropriate pendant, so I added some crystals and pearls, as well as some wire swirls. When I was done, it looked like a tricycle to me.

To complete the design, I grabbed an array of glass, rock and river-shell beads to frame the pendant. Then I attached the design to a decorative, gunmetal chain. I think it turned out so cute!

And, these earrings look perfect with the necklace. What do you think?

These earrings look great with the necklace.

Tell me how you feel about it

